Skip navigation links
Find Parks & Hours
Find Nature
Things To Do
The Latest
Rentals
Get Involved
About Us
Skip navigation links
Hours
Marina at West Lake Park
Anne Kolb Nature Center
Monthly Calendar
Lunch-and-Learn Nature Series
Friends of the Anne Kolb Nature Center
Mangrove Hall
Scouts and Parks
Programs
Field Trips
Shelters
Fees
Cancellations
Environmental Boat Tour
Exhibit Hall Admission
Admission
Parks Passports
Shelter Reservations
Rules & Regulations
Maps & Directions
Weather
Marina at West Lake Park
Broward County > Parks > West Lake Park > Marina at West Lake Park

 

The marina will be open daily from Saturday, March 22 through Sunday, March 30.

GENERAL INFORMATION

Weather permitting, the marina offers boat rentals - kayaks and canoes - Thursday through Sunday, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., with the last boat departing the marina at 3:50 p.m. The marina is also open all County holidays except the day after Thanksgiving and Christmas Day.

Rentals are $14 per hour, $24 for two hours, and $30 for four hours. Rentals include boat, paddles, and U.S. Coast Guard-approved life jackets.

For ages 13 to 17, a parent/guardian signature is required to go out on the lake alone. For ages 12 and under, an adult must be on the boat with them. No infants or toddlers on tours or in classes.

For those who wish to launch their own kayaks/canoes, the marina's boat ramp is open regular park hours, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., daily. No motorized boats are allowed in the lake or at this ramp.

The park's regular gate entrance fee of $1.50/person (children 5 and under free) is in effect on weekends and holidays.

To register, go online or visit the Anne Kolb Nature Center office (751 Sheridan St., Hollywood, 954-357-5161, ext. 0), which is open from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. daily. For additional information, call the West Lake marina supervisor at 954-357-5122.

Register Online link

PROGRAM DESCRIPTIONS

All programs are $35 per person plus tax, or $20 per person if you bring your own canoe or kayak. Ages 13 to 17 require signed parent/guardian permission to go out alone. Ages 12 and under require an adult in the boat with them. Participants have the option of going solo or using a double kayak. Infants and toddlers are not permitted in boats. Life jackets are included and must be worn at all times.

Kayak Class - Learn the various braces and strokes necessary to properly handle a single or double kayak in this introductory session. Safety issues, rescue techniques, and the required equipment available will also be discussed. Both single and double kayaks are available for this class.

Canoe Class - This basic class teaches the various strokes necessary to properly handle a canoe. We'll also discuss rescue techniques and the necessary gear. Canoes can accommodate one or two people.

Full Moon Paddle - Join us as we paddle among the stars and the light of the full moon. This tour is for experienced paddlers; beginners are encouraged to complete one of the park's introductory classes before participating. 

West Lake Paddling EcoTour - Right in the middle of urban Broward County you'll find something unexpected - the beautiful natural area of West Lake, featuring many mangrove-lined trails and the open water of a large, protected, and pristine tidal lake. The lake is home to many species of aquatic birds and other marine life. Explore this unique ecosystem via canoe or kayak, learn the history of the site, and view the inhabitants as you navigate the trails and open water. This tour is for experienced paddlers; beginners are encouraged to complete one of the park's introductory classes before participating.

CALENDAR

Sat., Dec. 14
5-7 p.m.
Full Moon Paddle
Wed., Dec. 18
9:30-11:30 a.m.
West Lake Paddling EcoTour
Thurs., Dec. 19
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Canoe Class
Fri., Dec. 20
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Kayak Class
Wed., Dec. 25 PARK CLOSED FOR CHRISTMAS DAY
Thurs., Dec. 26
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Kayak Class
Fri., Dec. 27
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Canoe Class
Tues., Dec. 31
9:30-11:30 a.m.
West Lake Paddling EcoTour
Wed., Jan. 1
8 a.m.-6 p.m.
PARK & MARINA OPEN FOR NEW YEAR'S DAY - No classes
Fri., Jan. 3
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Kayak Class
Sat., Jan. 4
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Kayak Class
Fri., Jan. 17
9:30-11:30 a.m.
West Lake Paddling EcoTour
Sat., Jan. 18
9:30-11:30 a.m.
West Lake Paddling EcoTour
Mon., Jan. 20
8 a.m.-6 p.m.
PARK & MARINA OPEN FOR MARTIN LUTHER KING DAY - No classes
Sat., Jan. 25
9:30-11:30 a.m. 
Canoe Class
Fri., Jan. 31
9:30-11:30 a.m.
West Lake Paddling EcoTour
Sat., Feb. 1
9:30-11:30 a.m.
West Lake Paddling EcoTour
Sat., Feb. 8
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Kayak Class
Fri., Feb. 14
7:30-9:30 p.m.
Full Moon Paddle
Sat., Feb. 15
7:30-9:30 p.m.
Full Moon Paddle
Sat., Feb. 22
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Kayak Class
Fri., Feb. 28
9:30-11:30 a.m.
West Lake Paddling EcoTour
Sat., Mar. 1
9:30-11:30 a.m.
West Lake Paddling EcoTour
Sat., Mar. 15
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Kayak Class
Fri., Mar. 21
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Kayak Class
Tues., Mar. 25
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Spring Break Kayak Class
Thurs., Mar. 27
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Spring Break West Lake Paddling EcoTour
Sat., Mar. 29
9:30-11:30 a.m.
Spring Break Canoe Class

West Lake Park
1200 Sheridan St., Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone: 954-357-5161
Fax: 954-357-5163
Email: WestLakePark@broward.org