Broward County Records, Taxes and Treasury Division serves as an agent for the state of Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for the purpose of registering and titling motor vehicles, mobile homes and vessels, and issuance of Disabled Parking Permits.
Under state law, if you own a motor vehicle registered in Florida, you must renew your tag (vehicle registration) each year by midnight of your birthday. If the vehicle is registered in a company name, it will probably renew in June. If it is leased, the month of renewal may vary. Trucks with an empty weight over 5000 pounds renew in December. When you renew your tag, you must present proof of Florida insurance including Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and at least $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL). You must also supply the driver's license number of the owner and co-owner, if applicable.
If you own a mobile home, you must renew your registration by December 31. If you own a vessel that is registered in Florida, it will expire midnight of your birthday or June 30 if in a company name.
Click here for more information about titling and registering your vehicle in Florida.
You can renew your motor vehicle, mobile home, vessel online clicking here.
Residents may apply for their motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel registration in person, or by mail to:
Broward County Records, Taxes and Treasury Division
1800 N.W. 66 Ave., Suite 100 (in person please go to Suite 101)
Plantation, FL 33313
Open Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
You can also apply at one of many Private Tag Agency Locations in Broward County.
Payment can be made by Check, Money Order, or Cash. Credit/Debit cards including MasterCard, VISA, American Express, and Discover are also accepted. An over-the counter 2.55-percent (minimum $1.95 transaction fee) applies for credit card transactions. A $1.95 flat transaction fee applies for debit card transactions. Transaction fees are charged per card transaction by a third-party vendor, and Broward County does not retain any portion of transaction fees.
If you cannot find the information you are looking for below, please call the Auto Tag Information Center at 954-765-4697 or e-mail your question to: firstname.lastname@example.org Please Include Your Tag Number, Name and a Daytime Contact Phone Number
You can find more information about Disabled Parking Permits by clicking here.
Need More Information?