

Independent Transportation Surtax Oversight Board

November 7, 2024

Monica Cepero, County Administrator 115 South Andrews Avenue, Ste. 409 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 [delivered via email: mcepero@broward.org]

Dear County Administrator Cepero:

The Independent Transportation Surtax Oversight Board (Oversight Board) met on October 25, 2024, where members received presentations on and discussed the County's bus advertising program, transit marketing campaigns, and planned performance audit of the surtax program. No formal actions were taken at the meeting.

While discussing the potential scope for a performance audit of the surtax program, several members of the Oversight Board expressed a desire to see a greater priority placed on traffic signalization and synchronization projects. We believe relieving traffic congestion was a primary goal of the program presented to the voters and established as a priority in the County's transportation surtax legal documents.

A number of members present expressed that congestion management investments should take greater precedence in the County's overall surtax program. It is the desire of the Oversight Board for the County to maximize its coordination and efforts related to traffic signalization and assure metrics are established and reported when strategies are deployed (e.g., adaptive traffic signal control devices).

The Oversight Board requested the Office of the County Auditor research and recommend best practices for evaluating performance of congestion relief tools and initiatives as part of its performance audit. The members also requested an update from Broward County's Traffic Engineering Division as part of the agenda for the December 11, 2024, Oversight Board Workshop.

On behalf of my colleagues, we appreciate the opportunity to serve the community in our capacity.

Sincerely,

C. Douglas Coolman, Chair

C: Transportation Surtax Oversight Board Members Nathaniel Klitsberg, Surtax General Counsel Kimm Campbell, Deputy County Administrator Kevin Kelleher, Assistant County Administrator

C. Douglas Coolman, Chair
Anthea Pennant-Wallace, Vice Chair
Phil Allen
Ronald E. Frazier
Alan Hooper
Raymond McElroy
Erdal Donmez
Shea Smith
Debbie Madden
Gretchen Cassini, Oversight Board Coordinator
Nathaniel Klitsberg, Transportation Surtax General Counsel

October 25, 2024, Oversight Board Recommendations Transmittal to Broward County

Laurette Jean, Assistant to the County Administrator Trevor Fisher, Director, Public Works Department Tony Hui, Deputy Director, Public Works Department Rasem Awwad, Director, Traffic Engineering Division Robert Melton, County Auditor Kathie-Ann Ulett, Deputy County Auditor Laura Rogers, Audit Manager

